he Returned & Services League of Australia (RSL) today announced the recipients of the 2024 RSL ANZAC of the Year Awards.

The nominations for the ANZAC Awards are assessed and selected by the National RSL ANZAC Awards Committee whose members include:

  • Chairman – Greg Melick, RSL National President;

  • Paul Singer, Official Secretary to the Governor-General of Australia;

  • David Belgrove, Assistant Secretary Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet;

  • former Senator Margaret Reid;

  • Phil Winter, RSL Australia CEO.

The ANZAC of the Year Awards are presented ‘to recognise the efforts and achievements of up to seven Australians who have given service to their fellow Australians and to the community in a positive, selfless and compassionate manner.’

The 2024 recipients are:

Mr Ian Smith of South Australia, in recognition of decades of tireless, dedicated, and passionate service to the veteran community of South Australia and his contribution to the State Veterans’ Advisory Council, the ANZAC Day Committee, the Aboriginal Veterans of South Australia Committee, and the Consortium of South Australian Ex-Service Organisations.

Mr Robert Mitchell CD of Western Australia, in recognition of his 30 years of dedicated, committed, and selfless service to the RSL and wider Veteran community and as a respected contributor and advisor to many communities/groups including the Australian Army Museum, the Royal Australian Artillery Historical Society, the National Trust, the Royal United Services Institute, Scouts Australia, and the Rottnest Island Cultural Advisory Committee.

“On behalf of the RSL National Board and Members of the RSL I would like to congratulate the two individuals who have been selected for ANZAC of the Year Awards,” Greg Melick said. “They are exemplars of community service and an inspiration to all Australians.”

“This year’s Award recipients exemplify the Spirit of ANZAC in the community through their dedication and commitment to the benefit of others.”


You may also like

Leave a comment